Last year nearly 900 DUI (Driving Under the Influence) cases were filed in McLean County alone. The Illinois Secretary of State is reporting more than 50,000 DUI arrests statewide. DUI law in Illinois is complex. Drunk driving can be a Class A misdemeanor punishable by a maximum $2,500 fine and 364 days in jail for first time offenders with no aggravating factors.
Or, for multiple DUI offenders or those with aggravating factors such as a fatal accident, driving without a valid license, or not having insurance, felony DUI charges may be filed. DUI tickets can be issued for a blood alcohol content (BAC) above .08, any amount of illegal drugs or simply impaired driving.
Persons charged with drunk driving can also face suspension or revocation of their driving privileges. Suspension periods are now a minimum of six months if the blood alcohol content is above .08, and one year if the motorist refuses to provide a breath sample as a first offender. In 2009, Monitoring Device Driving Permits (MDDP) and Blood Alcohol Ignition Interlock Devices (BAIID) have replaced Judicial Driving Permits (JDP). Most first time DUI offenders are eligible for the MDDP after a 30 day 'hard' suspension. They must have a BAIID installed in their car.
With penalties like jail and loss of license, who better to fight for your rights than a former prosecutor? Protect your driving privileges. Retain a lawyer with experience both prosecuting and defending DUI cases in central Illinois. I will review your case, and work with you to formulate possible defenses. I will also discuss possible penalties and outcomes with you.
A DUI arrest typically begins by being pulled over by the Bloomington, Normal, Illinois State or McLean County Sheriff's Police for a minor traffic violation such as speeding, improper lane usage or an equipment violation such as a light being out. After making contact with the driver, the police officer will notice an odor of alcoholic beverage. The driver will then be asked to exit the vehicle to perform field sobriety testing including a walk and turn test and a one leg stand test. A breathalyzer will then be offered to determine blood alcohol content (bac). Alternatively, the police officer will notice an odor of cannabis, and request a blood and urine test.
Call Chris Gramm, Attorney at Law (309)275-6677 for a free consultation. Chris represents clients in Bloomington, Normal, McLean County and throughout central Illinois.